Southeast Ohio Regional Education Meeting

Sponsored by The Athens Foundation and the Foundation for Appalachian Ohio in cooperation with Ohio Grantmakers Forum

This FREE event is December 10, registration & breakfast begins at 7:30 a.m., meeting is 8:00 a.m. to noon at the Ohio University Inn & Conference Center, 331 Richland Avenue, Athens, Ohio.

REGISTRATION DEADLINE IS MONDAY, DECEMBER 7, 2009. Download the registration form here.

At this regional meeting we will discuss recent national and state activities to improve Ohio’s education system, including an update on the progress of OGF’s education initiative; an overview Ohio’s new education agenda and an analysis of where the "gaps" are; a panel discussion and town hall conversation about local education needs, programs and initiatives; and discussion with state education leaders concerning the federal stimulus and the state’s application for the competitive Race to the Top funds.

This regional conversation is one of a series of similar conversations being held by OGF and its members across the state. These regional meetings are part of OGF’s education initiative and build on the regional conversations that were co-sponsored by local foundations and OGF around education policy reform in 2007-2008.

Presenters include:

  • Cara Dingus Brook, Foundation for Appalachian Ohio

  • Larry Burgess, Ph.D., Ohio University, Educational Studies Department; Coalition of Rural and Appalachian Schools

  • Brenda Haas, Ed.D., Ohio Appalachian Center for Higher Education (OACHE)

  • Renee Middleton, Ph.D., Ohio University, College of Education

  • Rick Studer, Battelle for Kids

Last edited on 11.23.2009 at 10:26 a.m. by rwebb

SMART/STEM Scholarship Available

The Science, Mathematics And Research for Transformation (SMART) Scholarship for Service Program is an opportunity for students pursuing an undergraduate or graduate degree in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) disciplines to receive a full scholarship and be gainfully employed upon degree completion.  SMART Scholars receive: cash awards paid at a rate of $25,000 - $41,000 per year depending on prior educational experience, full tuition and related education expenses, health insurance reimbursement allowance, book allowance, summer internships (multi-year participants) and post-graduation opportunities.

Students pursuing degrees related to the following are encouraged to apply: Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering, Biosciences, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Cognitive, Neural and Behavioral Sciences, Computer and Computational Sciences, Electrical Engineering, Geosciences, Industrial and System Engineering (technical tracks only), Information Sciences, Materials Science and Engineering, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Naval Architecture and Ocean Engineering, Nuclear Engineering, Oceanography, Operations Research (technical tracks only) and Physics.

Deadline for applications is December 15, 2009.  To learn more and to apply online go to

Last edited on 11.05.2009 at 12:03 p.m. by tmckenzie

Congratulations to the 2009 TG Grant Schools!

Congratulations to the 2009 recipients of the TG Grant. The winners were announced at the 16th Annual OACHE Conference hosted by Ohio University-Chillicothe.

John Roush accepting from Whiteoak High School, Highland County.


Joy Padgett accepting on behalf of Coshocton City Schools, Coshocton County.


Jim Arcuragi accepting from East Liverpool City Schools, Columbiana County.

Rick Edwards accepting from Eastern Local Schools, Meigs County.


Tim Amburgey accepting from Northwest Local Schools, Scioto County.


Cathleen Daniher accepting from Steubenville City Schools, Jefferson County.



Colette McFadden accepting from Switzerland of Ohio School District, Monroe County.


Sandy Mers accepting from South Point Local Schools for South Point Local, Lawrence County and Valley Local School District, Scioto County.

Last edited on 11.02.2009 at 2:27 p.m. by tmckenzie