OACHE Annnounces 2008 WFW Outstanding Educators

The Ohio Appalachian Center for Higher Education recognized outstanding educators from K-12 schools in the 29 counties of Appalachian Ohio during the 15th Annual OACHE Conference. The 2008 Wayne F. White Outstanding Educator of the Year Awards were presented during the closing session of the conference, at Washington State Community College in Marietta. The awards recognize school personnel who have made an extra effort to encourage and assist students to go to college. They may have made a positive difference in a variety of ways, e.g., increasing the college-going rate, taking a special interest in students, or developing excellent relationships with college representatives and/or businesses.

Two teachers tied for the Wayne F. White Outstanding Teacher of the Year award: Mrs. Ellen Swickard, a chemistry teacher at Edison High School in Jefferson County, and Mr. Jason Croxall, an English teacher at East Liverpool High School.

Ellen Swickard & Angela SuggsMrs. Swickard’s high standards for her students have been credited by those students for helping them to do well in their college courses. As an adjunct professor with Jefferson Community College, Mrs. Swickard teaches a Chemistry II class for which students receive dual credit for both high school and college. "Mrs. Swickard has the least amount of students who have to take remedial courses at the collegiate level in Jefferson County," said Matt Morrison, principal of Edison High School. "She takes a genuine interest in each student and is very dedicated to the success of each of her students."

Jason Croxall & Brenda HaasMr. Croxall was credited by his colleagues with an irreplaceable enthusiasm for teaching. "Jason is deeply concerned about every student that crosses his path. He will go out of his way to help make his students’ lives a little better," noted colleague Jim Arcuragi in his letter of nomination.

Holly Cunningham, from Frontier Local Schools, was named Outstanding Counselor of the Year for her work as high-school guidance counselor. Ms. Cunningham has worked to streamline the college process of financial aid, college visits, etc., to ensure that Frontier students have access to any college information they need or desire. "Ms. Cunningham serves as an excellent role model for our students on the value of a college education and what can be gained through such an education," noted her nominator, Susan Walton.

The Outstanding Administrator of the Year award was presented to Susan Nolan, principal of North Elementary School in Jefferson County. Ms. Nolan also served as a teacher in the Buckeye Local School District. Ms. Nolan has recognized the importance of students realizing the need for postsecondary education, even at the elementary level. "Susan’s innovative ideas serve as a role model for the other elementary schools in our district," said teacher Belinda Boyce. "She is energetic, filled with enthusiasm and is an inspiration to the many children whose lives she touches."

The OACHE’s Outstanding Educator award was renamed in memory of Wayne White, the OACHE’s first executive director, who passed away unexpectedly in 2004. During his 40-year career in public education, including ten years as executive director of the OACHE, Mr. White demonstrated, and inspired in others, a commitment to helping students attain a better quality of life through higher education.

Last edited on 11.12.2008 at 2:18 p.m. by rwebb