About Appalachian Ohio

Appalachia is a 205,000-square-mile region that follows the spine of the Appalachian Mountains from southern New York to northern Mississippi. It includes all of West Virginia and parts of 12 other states: Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, Mississippi, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia. The region was defined by the federal government in the Appalachian Regional Development Act of 1965. Learn more about the 13-state Appalachian region at http://www.arc.gov.

Appalachian Ohio is comprised of 32 counties. Covering 16,033 square miles, it is home to nearly 18 percent of Ohio’s population.

Map links are to the.Office of Strategic Research county profiles (no charts or line graphs).

Ohio Appalachia Map ashtabula county trumbull county mahoning county columbiana county carroll county jefferson county tuscarawas county holmes county harrison county coshocton county belmont county guernsey county muskingum county noble county monroe county perry county morgan county washington county hocking county athens county meigs county vinton county ross county highland county gallia county jackson county pike county lawrence county scioto county adams county brown county clermont county

Links from county names are to the Ohio State University Extension county profiles (similar to map links, but profiles include charts and line graphs).

Learn more about Appalachian Ohio at: